PDA

View Full Version : file help, 48HOURPRINT.COM, thanks

ampeg76
01-19-2005, 06:49 PM
Hey guys,

Based on the good feedback on this site I was going to use 48HOURPRINT.COM for my door hangers and business cards. I have already downloaded the templates for photoshop. The problem is I have no experience in photoshop, so I saved the templates as jpegs and loaded the images into a new msword document. After finishing up I cut the finished product and saved that as a jpeg. Is this exceptable for them? If not how does everyone go about using the templates. Thanks in advance!

Cheers
Mike

NickN
01-19-2005, 07:21 PM
Depends on what you're looking for.If you want a high quality(think magazine or professional brochure) image,then MSWord is not going to cut it.
You'll need to create your hanger at 300dpi,sized for the hanger,and in an .ai file or .psd or even .gif.
300 dots per inch will create an image that is clear and sharp.JPEG images are compressed images,mainly for something like a webpage,where you don't necessarily need high resolution.
If you're looking to just create a basic hanger and not worry about it looking "professionally" created,they can probably use what you have.Keep in mind when it's printed it will be more grainy than one created in Photoshop or Illustrator.
Another easy way is to contact Gopher and have them create it for you.Well worth the money considering the time and frustration saved.

Smithers
01-19-2005, 08:06 PM
i dont know photoshop very well....but give them a call, or another place, some of them would be happy to help you put it together. especially if you know what you want alreadyl

Grass Gator
01-19-2005, 08:13 PM
I used Microsoft Publisher then saved it as a JPEG file. We you "save as" in Publisher you can select JPEG and change it to 300dpi. This is what I did, then forwarded to 48hourprint and they turned out great. Very happy with it.

N.H.BOY
01-19-2005, 08:28 PM