PDA

View Full Version : Can I get some opinions please??

SummitFarmer
01-29-2001, 11:47 PM
I fairly new to this forum, but really enjoy the information and opinions given about the business. My situation is that I'm getting tired of the 'ole 9 to 5 and have the opportunity to purchase a LMO. I really want to do it. I have been doing some LC part-time for about 5 years now and have really loved it. I was wanting to see if any of you folks here have gone this route to get into the business and if so how it went for you. Thanks in advance.

R.D. the Summit Farmer

Eric ELM
01-30-2001, 12:06 AM
I would say most lawn care guys start part time and work their way into it unless they were given the company to start. I did and I'm glad of it. You learn as you go and get the feel of it first. I grew up on a farm so it is like city farming to me. :)

Bob Shoaff
01-30-2001, 01:33 AM
I have been doing things part time for years and I bought out a competitor just last week which was enough to make me feel good about leaving my corporate job. Today was my first day to not go into the office and I have never been in such great spirits. I have time now to grow my business into what I have invisioned it to be and I will be making more then the corporate job paid. I would say if your heart is in it and you are getting a good deal the go for it. You will be a happy farmer..

Acute Cut
01-30-2001, 06:31 AM
Congrats Bob. Glad to hear someones suceeding at this!

Good luck to ya!

ACUTE CUT

zimm4
01-30-2001, 12:23 PM
Be careful what you pay. For some odd reson.
A good % of the clients will find A different service.
I bought out a carpet cleaner that had 1200 clients.
I only converted about 200 of them.

Kyle

65hoss
01-30-2001, 12:56 PM
I bought a guy out last year. Got a mower, trailer, 2 comml accts, 1 church and about 8-10 residentials. I didn't lose any of them, they were his long time customers. I paid about the price of a wb mower for everything. Mower was about 8 mths old too.