PDA

View Full Version : Aeration and overseeding in the winter?

jasonnau
02-01-2005, 03:07 PM
I have a customer who would like their lawn aerated and overseeded as soon as it is possible. They have some spots that are looking kind of rough (Mostly from a couple of mature trees in the front yard, and a little bit of wear). I'm fairly new to the business, and would like some input weather this is a good idea or not. Also, what types of grasses would be best suited for a general, yet, shade tolerant mix. It's flat out winter here in Northern Kentucky, and still frozen, but when it thaws enough, I want to go ahead and do the job. Would you advise this? or not? Also, I will be adding several yards of top soil to fill in some low areas prior.
Thanks,
Jason

rodfather
02-01-2005, 03:37 PM
If the ground is frozen as you say, you are flat out wasting your time AND your customer's money. Period

jasonnau
02-01-2005, 03:49 PM
No, I'm not going to aerate when the ground is frozen, read a little closer. I want to aerate it when it thaws, before spring though. As long as we have some warm days soon, It will be thawed shortly.

plateau lawn care
02-01-2005, 04:24 PM
Some LCO's may have more to say but go to this site and check it out he tells when to do both, it is a very good site. www.walterreeves.com from the home page click on Lawns which is on the left side of the page then select the type of grass very easy site

PMLAWN
02-01-2005, 04:28 PM
Your seed will not germinate and may wash away in the spring rains.

Rod is wise.

marko
02-01-2005, 04:42 PM