PDA

View Full Version : To Bag or Not To Bag? Equipment Questions

MSmith
02-02-2005, 12:05 PM
I am brand new to lawn care industry; 17 years Old. I have a couple of question to draw on wisdom of the forum. It looks like I am in great shape on getting some good contracts; apartment complexes, residential, duplexes; I have lined up several jobs through rental management company contacts.

I have my blower, trimmer and edger. I have also bought a Toro Proline beltdrive WB 42" used, 3 yrs old. I am considering buying a Toro Zero Turn, because it will greatly increase my efficiency; going with Toro so I can keep my service needs with one place.

My main questions follow:

1. Should I get a mower with a bagger? I have one commercial customer that thinks that makes sense. We are in NC with lots of pine trees, and he thinks going over with a bagger with pine straw and small debris is more efficient than blowing or raking.

2. Should I even get a zero turn rider yet? the walk behind will do alot, but it really does look like I am getting all the business I can handle, even with hiring an employee full time?

Any input or wisdom greatly appreciated from a rookie

FrankenScagMachines
02-02-2005, 12:56 PM
Welcome to LawnSite MSmith! If you milk it right, this site will give a lot of good info. Don't forget about the Search feature, located near the top of the page. If there is something specific you are looking for info on, be sure and try a search before asking, as there is gobs of great info in the archives. Don't be afraid to post a new subject either!

Now, on to your question:
You will get a lot of varied responses on this. Not everyone will agree on how to do business or what to use, or bagging or not. That is the beauty of it all, everyone and their business is different, and things vary from area to area. I'm one of those people who don't mind bagging, but you have to be setup properly to do it profitably and not make yourself miserable in the process.