PDA

View Full Version : which walk behind to buy?

pablohoney
02-02-2005, 08:08 PM
Hi all, I'm new to this site and find it very informative. I am new to the ownership side of business, starting up just this past fall. I have an old exmark viking belt driven that is probably 8 years old and so I'm looking to get a new mower this spring. What advice can you all give me about which brand, model, etc. I should look to? I have about 20 accounts that I use the larger mower on so I want something reliable. Thanks in advance
pablo

Mark McC
02-02-2005, 08:29 PM
Can you tell us a little more about your route and the types of grasses and so on?

By the way, you can use the search thingamabob to look at the opinions of members on specific makes and models. Might tell you more than you'll get with this post.

pcguy
02-02-2005, 08:36 PM
Exmark, Bobcat, Scag, Toro, John Deere are all good machines. Do you want belt? Hydro? The different brands have ranging costs, and that is something you'll want to keep in mind. Most all commerical mowers will work quite well if taken care of and everyone has their own opinion depending on the conditions, etc. But above all, make sure you have a very good dealer to support you. Are they giving you priority since you bought there? Do you get a loaner if somethings wrong? Always go with the dealer support.

Mark McC
02-02-2005, 09:35 PM
But above all, make sure you have a very good dealer to support you. Are they giving you priority since you bought there? Do you get a loaner if somethings wrong? Always go with the dealer support.

Couldn't agree more. Equipment down time is deadly.

plateau lawn care
02-02-2005, 09:46 PM
I would say if you have the money get a hydro I started out with a belt but the do have their downfalls. Like the others said dealer support a good idea.

FrankenScagMachines
02-02-2005, 10:08 PM