PDA

View Full Version : TAX Tips

Titans Fan
02-02-2005, 11:42 PM
I know to use equipments, parts, labor, fuel, mileage and office supplies as writeoffs.

Does anybody have any other ideas on tax writeoffs?

This is my first year to have a buisiness to deal with.

lawnman_scott
02-03-2005, 12:04 AM
insurance. truck plates, paper towels..... it gos on and on.

traman
02-03-2005, 12:08 AM
your computer and all parts related, printer paper ink and so on ,postage stamps also if you own your home the portion you use as an office is a right off so is a % of electric ,water, phone cell phone if you lease your car or truck the whole dame thing is a write off get a good cpa thay will come with a lot more

Soupy
02-03-2005, 12:10 AM
Don't forget about the space used for business, such as garage and office. What my accountant does is have me measure the sq ft of spaced used and deduct that from power, mortgage/rent etc.

Soupy
02-03-2005, 12:11 AM
your computer and all parts related, printer paper ink and so on ,postage stamps also if you own your home the portion you use as an office is a right off so is a % of electric ,water, phone cell phone if you lease your car or truck the whole dame thing is a write off get a good cpa thay will come with a lot more

We posted at the same time. Don't forget the garage, also you don't have to own the space. Rent is deductible.

cantoo
02-03-2005, 12:14 AM
Be creative.
I write off every single thing I can. Office supplies, tools, parts, fuel for everything including heat for my house (attached shop), truck I drive to work, snacks, water or juice, all paper products, and on and on. Also make sure you claim every single cent you make too. they will not forgive you forgetting some cash income.

marko
02-03-2005, 09:24 AM
Someone in another similar thread stated that gasoline used off road (lawn equipment) received a 30% credit. I did not know about that one.

northmichigan
02-03-2005, 09:31 AM
Be creative.