PDA

View Full Version : Help me on this one! !

advancedlawnsolutions
02-05-2005, 06:46 PM
Hey guys I'm new to teh biz. I offer complete irrigation service and low voltage lighting and I also want to help customers solve the issues they have with turf & plant problems like insects, diseases, or infertility. I'm study trufgrass management (homestudy) through UGA and I'm about 3/4 the way through. I'm thinking on all granular applications except spot treat for weeds. I have limited funds that inhibit me from purchasing high $ spray equipment. Question to you guys is can I make a viable business through granular applications? And what should I charge? My irrigation service is $45/ hr. + supplies & .05% markup. How can I be competitive with granular?

advancedlawnsolutions
02-05-2005, 06:48 PM
The problem in this area with the competition seems to be who can spray the site the fastest. My concern is the actual turf or plant growth problem. But I want to make money too.

Luscious Lawns
02-05-2005, 08:04 PM
We use granular fert & Pre and a backpack for post emergent spot weed control. This has fit my biz plan well. However I only sell chem to mowing clients. The main advantage to large spray equipment is it allows you to move through applications faster, also they are very handy in case you are called to a location with many pre-existing weeds. We also have a 30 gal electric on a Z we use for "nightmare" lawns. With our only selling chem apps to full service clients our day to day work does not bring us into contact with many "nightmare" projects.

James Cormier
02-05-2005, 10:53 PM
#1Question to you guys is can I make a viable business through granular applications? #2And what should I charge? My irrigation service is $45/ hr. + supplies & .05% markup.#3 How can I be competitive with granular?

1. Yes, most companies do alot of granular treatments.