PDA

View Full Version : WB mowers

big_country
02-06-2005, 12:10 PM
I am in need of a smaller WB such as a 36" for fenced and smaller areas I can't get my 61" ZTR in. I was wanting some input on some of the best brands on the market, never have dealt with WB. Also which is the way to go belt or hydro? It will not get used that much, just a few hours a week if that helps with any opinions.
Thanks

The landscaper
02-06-2005, 12:13 PM
Seems like your best bet would be to just find a goood used belt drive one. I am sure you can find a good one priced fairly cheap.

atproperty
02-06-2005, 02:24 PM
I would usually say hydro but if you will barely use it save the money and buy belt unless there is potential for growth where you may use the walk behind more. Runon sentence but its's okay i'm a landscaper not a professor. Hydros are awesome and a pleasure to use. Maybe go with a used hydro, ecspecially if you will be mowing on a hill. If its flat you are fine with a belt. Belts suck in the rain and you can get into messy situations. Hope I helped.

newbomb
02-06-2005, 04:19 PM
You can pick up a good used exmark metro almost any where. Get a 36" or even a 32" just be sure you get one with the right motor. You want a kohler or kawasaki with at least 12 hp. These motors have oil pumps that keep them lubricated on hills. Other motors like B/S and Tecumseh use splash oil systems and will fry quickly on hills. Also a belt drive is just fine especially if you are going to use it occasionally. Easy to repair and cheaper too. New these units are around $2,500 but you could find a clean used one for $1,500 any where. If you have cash who knows what a deal you could make. If gates are the issue I would look for a 32" some gates here are even too tight for 36".

-Paul

TURF DOCTOR
02-06-2005, 05:37 PM
Just bought a simplicity 34 inch cut wb

big_country
02-06-2005, 05:52 PM