PDA

View Full Version : 2nd Cut with new Z purchase - review

Mr.Ziffel
02-02-2001, 12:28 AM
I've been cutting 4-6 acres for the past two years with a John Deere F935 72" front mower and wanted to improve the quality of cut and up my speed. I narrowed the choice to Toro, Lazer, Scag, Ferris - had to be 60" with max HP, not Kohler. The reason for my narrow choices is lack of dealers nearby, although I traveled 65 miles north and almost 90 south to check out other machines [There's only water to the west and trees for 3 hours east]. The Ferris dealer seemed fine but machine is not available yet. The Toro and Exmark are from the same dealer, who prefers the Toro deck for discharge in our wet conditions, but I chose the Lazer for its heavier appearing deck and the opinion that it is better for mulching and collection with the UltraVac, if desired later.

I had the Scag and Exmark dealers bring their machines out within 2 hours of each other and cut one half of my biggest field with each. The Scag started and ran fine. Deck {60" Advantage}height adjustment seemed difficult-I had a hard time seeing what hole the pin went into to change it, although I liked the detent lock feature on the pin. My foot felt awkward when lifting it. When I put in the pto clutch [at half throttle], the whole machine seemed to shudder and then the deck let out a tremendous rattling, shaking shreik from the deck belt/gearbox area. The belts were clearly visible from my seat but I never got around to asking if the cover was missing, but I was always aware of the gearbox and belts and the noise they were making. This was a first cut of October seeded perennial rye which was about 6-8" and wet. It seemed to cut and discharge fairly evenly, although when I got down and looked closely, there were uneven areas and clumps every couple of passes.