PDA

View Full Version : JB Weld on aluminum...?

Roger
02-15-2005, 08:25 PM
I have done a search for "JB Weld" and found it referenced through many threads. Most uses were to fix plastic parts, e.g. fuel tanks. A couple references were made to use on iron. But, what about aluminum? I have no experience with JB Weld.

My old LawnBoy (21" commercial handover, pre-Duraforce engine) with cast aluminum deck has the blind holes for the height adjusters badly worn. The rib between the 3.5 and 3.0 inch, and rib between 3.0 and 2.5 inch settings is practically gone. This mower is seven years old, mowed over 3.500 lawns - but the engine still runs great. We use it as a second mower, a backup.

My neighbor suggested putting dowels in the holes (covered with petroleum jelly), flush with the outside surface. Then he suggested using JB Weld to layer up the ribs so that the shape is restored to the original. After setup, the dowels can be pulled out (or drilled out), and the pin on the adjuster lever would have new holes to engage.

He as "sure" it would work for aluminum, even though he has never used it on aluminum. He just suggested to be certain the surfaces were very clean.

Anybody with any experience in using JB Weld like this?

locutus
02-15-2005, 08:35 PM
If you never change mowing height, have someone tack weld the wheels in place and call it good. Sounds like the mower has seen it's better day anyway.

1MajorTom
02-15-2005, 08:54 PM
Matt has used jb weld on aluminum, and it has worked, but he is not sure how it will hold up for this application.

jim dailey
02-15-2005, 09:02 PM
Go and see a welder or a fabricator. They may be able to weld the holes back to shape. Not certain...but I think it is TIG welding. Anyone who can weld aluminum should be able to help you. Sign companies, also.

locutus
02-15-2005, 09:12 PM