PDA

View Full Version : bagging leaves and pinestraw economically

MSmith
02-16-2005, 03:20 PM
I am new to the business and have picked up some accounts that still have leaves and pinestraw on the ground. I have my 44 inch Toro Proline Walkbehind as a starter mower. I will buy a ZTR mower when my business justifies it. In the meantime, what is the most economical way to get rid of leaves and pinestraw? I don't have a bagger on my walk behind or mulch kit. Can you mulch pinestraw? Are there any other ideas out there?

Those of you that don't have a $ 2,500 bagger on your ZTR, how do you deal with it? I just finished bagging 25 bags of blown pinestraw and leaves. I'm tired and looking for ideas. I have thought of a bagger for my walk behind just for that. I have also thought of getting a cheap residential used rider just for bagging pinestraw and leaves.

Any ideas appreciated.

Matthew

mastercare
02-16-2005, 04:26 PM
People may laugh at this, but rakes, blowers and bags work just fine. I do all of my leaf cleanups this way, and just charge per man-hour. I don't have the huge equipment for leaf cleanup yet, but that day will come. What I like about the old way is that you can get paid a good hourly rate, and keep almost all of it for a profit...little to no equipment to maintain or pay for. Also, the customers don't mind writing you checks if 2 guys spend 3 hours in their yard. They saw you working hard, and are so glad they didn't have to do it themselves. when you pull up with a $3000 leaf loader and do it in 45 minutes, they wonder why they're paying so much for such little work.
Customers will never understand that speed is only acquired through big investments in your company, and you're not "making a killing" like they think.