PDA

View Full Version : Troy-Bilt 21" non-commercial

Sir Mow-A-Lot
02-19-2005, 08:39 PM
What kind of reputation do these machines have? I am in need of a trim mower but don't have $1000 to spend on a commercial one. I saw a 2005 Troy-Bilt at Lowe's for about $229. Its got a 6.75 horse briggs & stratton, and it can mulch, side discharge, or rear bag. It's not self-propelled (which i do not like for trim mowers) and has oversized rear wheels.

I am a part-timer. I don't anticipate to use the trim mower more than 5hrs a week. So, how do these machines rank amongst Craftsman, lower end Hondas, Lawn Boy, etc. Thanks.

sanfordandsonfan
02-19-2005, 09:15 PM
I think it will probably work great for you. I have been mowing for a living the past five years. All the 21" mowers from lowes and homedepot are about the same in my opinion. They usaully last about one full season, and it gets donated to the landfill. Spring comes along and I spend $250.00 and make thousands. It's been working for me, and hope it works for you.

Legacy
02-19-2005, 09:33 PM
Do yourself a favor..

spend a little more $300 and get a Honda push trim mower!! Much better mower for the money..the Troy Bilt is a rebadged MTD!

Sir Mow-A-Lot
02-19-2005, 09:58 PM
fuel for thought. thanks guys.

Travis Followell
02-20-2005, 09:33 AM
For a trim mower the Troy-Bilt would probibly work pretty good for you.

mc752000
02-20-2005, 09:34 PM
I have a Troy built for my trim mower and I use it about 10hours a week for the past 2 years and still going strong. So I think it would do good for you!

Mark McC
02-20-2005, 10:23 PM
I think it's dicey. Could work out for you or the thing could go on the fritz a week after the warranty goes poops out. If you can't afford a grand for a full-grade commercial 21, get what you can, but know there's a substantial risk with homeowner-grade equipment.

jtkplc
02-20-2005, 11:19 PM