PDA

View Full Version : Bidding on 21 acre cut and trim

hayesandsons
02-20-2005, 11:42 AM
I used the program Groundskeeper Pro V5.2.1 and I set my basic price at 10.00 for every 1,000 square feet and labor at 10.00 and .5 man hours for every 1,000 square feet and the total price came out to per cut $9,147.60 then i figured there is an average 2 cuts a month for 7 months and came out with a total price of $128.058.00 for a bid.
This is my first year in business and don't want to go in the whole. I can't see doing the job for less and not make any money. I have been told to just start out with smaller accounts till you build up my equipment for a job like this which will cost me about 15,000.00 in equipment to do job
Any feed back for a newbe

MacPhersonlawn
02-20-2005, 01:00 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but I figure it out to be $435.57 per acre. That seems more than a little high. Usually would charge about $70 per acre, maybe a little less if it is all at one location.

Likestomow
02-20-2005, 01:12 PM
Take the advise you have been given previously.

stumper1620
02-20-2005, 01:17 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but I figure it out to be $435.57 per acre. That seems more than a little high. Usually would charge about $70 per acre, maybe a little less if it is all at one location.
i agree.
I run on 65.00 an acre, but i deal with craftsman night riders around here that would cut my legs off for 20 acres
I would go around 12 to 1300 per mow. i would take 5% off if its all one big vacant lot

Fantasy Lawns
02-20-2005, 01:21 PM
Look at it this way if you had a home on a 1.5 acre site with 1 acre of grass would you pay some one $400 to cut it each time ??

If you would than please move to Cocoa Beach

We use to mow a 15 acre site which was at $850 per cut or just around $57 per acre .... but I don't bid by size ...... I estimate my time based on size than bid using time as my factor ....