PDA

View Full Version : What are the symptoms........

KenH
02-25-2005, 10:26 AM
of water in Diesel fuel. I am new to the diesel scene and have a 2003 (7000 miles) Mits. 640. Been running very sluggish latey, ie. press pedal and feels like truck is overloaded to twice its capacity, and stalls out every once in a while when realeasing pedal. I have a service appt next week, but was just wondering if I could get a heads up on what it could be.
Thanks

Mowman29
02-25-2005, 02:06 PM
you might want to post this question on Plow Site but I believe it is water in the fuel. not cheap. it could be a fuel pump also. or bad sending unit. my advice don't drive it get it to the shop ASAP. You might end up with no motor at all.

KenH
02-25-2005, 04:04 PM
Thanks. There is actually a water/fuel separator which I drained and reprimed, and also a light which is supposed to indicate water in the fuel which has not lit. So Im not sure what it is.....the appt is on Wednesday. I just have to make it about 35 minutes away......

jsr2741
02-25-2005, 04:17 PM
Try changing the fuel filter, if this fixes it you saved yourself some money. If not at least you've eliminated two possible causes.

pottstim
02-25-2005, 10:14 PM
Try changing the fuel filter, if this fixes it you saved yourself some money. If not at least you've eliminated two possible causes.