PDA

View Full Version : Gutcheck Time

Bassman
05-12-2000, 10:18 PM
In a nutshell- Been through some great times and hard times. Not to bore any hard working posters of this board, but, I was a business owner for 17 years up until 1995. Was making $60 grand/year. Sold business for 250G. Made bad/wrong decisions with capital. That's life. Result- DIVORCE, foreclosure on home, start all over. -o- goose egg net worth. I am raising my son as a single parent. Have regrouped, climbed out of the abyss and 5 years later am debt free and ready to go into the lawn service business. Every day I have worked for someone else I have longed for the days I was a business owner and called my own shots. Please excuse the sappy prelogue to all this but I guess it's a form of healing or something to post this stuff for public commentary. I have heard all the negative comments about how difficult it is to make a living in this business. I have spent the last 6 months putting together a business plan. I have a catalogue of information regarding posts on this forum,( thank you Chuck for creating this website at no doubt great personal expense), regarding marketing, acquiring new customers, best equipment, etc. I am within 30 days of taking the plunge and starting my lawn service business. I'm so fed up working for the condescending jackass I do now I can't wait to have the opportunity to sink or swim in my own business again. Making about 23G/year now. Future not to bright at present job. Any comments from you guys about the moment you bit the bullit and said, &quot;I am going to do this&quot;. Cut your umbilical cord from a steady paycheck and jump in. Possibly against the advice of many people telling you that it would not work. Alternative-nothing ventured, nothing gained. Did you wonder if you could make a living or were you so focused you knew there was no way you would fail? Would you do it again, or stay in your previous job? Thanks. Bassman <p><br>&lt;font size=&quot;1&quot;&gt;E