PDA

View Full Version : New Truck

Acute Cut
05-13-2000, 11:39 AM
I have a 73 P.O.S. I lost the starter last night while checking my mail at the PO Box. Easy fix, but it was the straw that broke the camels back so to speak. I think ill buy a new truck. I have had 5 people tell me different things. "F#&$^ Over Rebuild Dodge" (FORD) sucks they say. I like the look though. A Ram is too much truck for a lawn business i think. Chevy has had some problems i have heard. WHo knows. I am NOT a mechanic by any means so i have finally decided that new is the way to go. (Two trucks and 9 engines later->All in one year) What is your opinion. I know i will need bed space cause i mow like 10 lawns a day at least and haul clippings away. (Trailer for equip) My current rig (Or Rusty P.O.S. if you will) gets like 8-10 mpg. I would like to try to get that a little higher too i suppose. Have a good day ya'll.

Starling Lawn
05-13-2000, 04:13 PM
whichever you buy,go with the three quater ton....made for pulling a trailer

thelawnguy
05-13-2000, 04:35 PM
You dont say whether you will be plowing snow or if you do landscape installs. If just mowing, a 1/2 ton 2wd full-size pickup will be more than adequate even towing up to 4000 lb trailer. Most 3/4 ton trucks will top out at 10 mpg vs. 15+ for 1/2 ton. Ford, Dodge, GM-what works for some doesnt for another, so try em all out, they each have their +'s and -'s, ive heard good and bad about them all.<p>Bill

CA Enterprises
05-13-2000, 06:52 PM