PDA

View Full Version : Certificate of workmans comp ??

MowinMachine
03-10-2005, 03:40 PM
went and asked about a job today and they want me to have a certificate of workmans comp i am a solo operation what exactly is this how do i get one and how much will it be

any advice would be nice
Thanks Lance

tiedeman
03-10-2005, 03:46 PM
since you are a solo op you do not need one. Just provide them with proof of liabilty insurance

NC Big Daddy
03-10-2005, 04:07 PM
since you are a solo op you do not need one. Just provide them with proof of liabilty insurance

Some companies require them period.

grass_cuttin_fool
03-10-2005, 04:12 PM
Yes they do, In va. you are not required to have it unless you have 3 employed. I bid on mowing telephone sub stations and had to have it and Im a solo operator. They wouldnt even accept my bid with out it, any way mine was gonna be $1800 for 1 year. I told them that if I got the bid I would have the Ins in 1 hour but they wouldnt accept that, oh well.
Mowinmachine, to answer your question, you will have to go to an insurance agent and buy a policy,I know here in Va workmans comp is very exspensive.

rodfather
03-10-2005, 04:15 PM
Most important is to get the correct rate classification. Mowing is much lower than landscaping in most states.

eshreve1234
03-10-2005, 04:38 PM
You must register with OH BWC. The application is on their web site. If you are a corp., you have to carry it on yourself also, other entities you may elect not to cover yourself. When you apply estimate your annual wages low so your deposit will be less. The deposits range from $10 - $1000. Then you get the pleasure of filing a report for 6/30 and 12/31 each year to report wages you paid and pay your premium.

tiedeman
03-10-2005, 04:45 PM
that is strange

pcguy
03-10-2005, 05:42 PM
EVERYTHING in Ohio is strange.

eshreve1234
03-10-2005, 05:52 PM