PDA

View Full Version : Pricing help Not Mulch

Newcreation
03-13-2005, 06:34 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first thread so I wll give a brief history, as I think it may help with my question. Before I start I apologize for the length of this post, but my question is somewhat detailed and I want to make sure my thinking on this topic is correct. I am new to the Green Industry and just started our company about 7 months ago. I have been shocked at the rate of growth that a company can experience in this industry. In 7 months we have gone from 1 guy, a truck, and a z-turn mower, to a full property maintenance company, moving to 3 full crews, along with a snow plowing crew in the winter, a sales force, and a cutomer base that is growing out or controll. It has been a mojor learning experience
Through all I have learned there still seems to be one topic that there is always some issues with. Estimating and bidding jobs. I hear people all the time say just go and see how long the job will take, find your hourly rate, mark up materials, and there you go. I Know I am probably going to get a lot of slack for this, but I absolutly hate this concept. I like knowing how long it will take me on average to mow a certian amount of sq feet, I like knowing exactly how much per plant of a certian size I will charge for trimming and so on. I have been able to calculate and come up with standard priceing formulas for alot of our services, but I am now trying to take that to the next step.