PDA

View Full Version : How do I deal with this???

cstafford
03-15-2005, 10:44 PM
This is my first time coming across this situation. So I'm reaching out to my landscaping brothers/sisters out there. The attached images will show what I'm up against. Need to create a bed of ornamental grasses in the planter. Here's my delimna...

If pack sand/soil in the planter, here in New Orleans, termites will have a feast on the fence over time. Althought the fence is painted, moisture from the soil/rain will break this down over time.

1. How do I protect the fence? (Plastic sheeting etc....)
2. Should I build a wall inside of the planter close to the fence? Hmmm...

Also you see there are shut off valves for the plumbing to the pool. I can't cover them up. I need a work around. Please provide any suggestions.

The planter dimensions are 30' (L) x 3'8" (W) x 2'2" (D).

I appreciate any feedback. Thank you for your time.

LB1234
03-15-2005, 11:01 PM
okay, trying to think outside the box.

I would build a series of shelves inside the 'bed'. Say three 10' sections. I would then place ornamental grass in planters along the shelving. I would have the shelves sit low enough so you can't see them from the deck, or while swimming in the pool. You could also place hanging baskets along the fence to give a little color and soften up the fenceline.

Not sure if it would work...just a quick thought.

bigviclbi
03-15-2005, 11:49 PM
Fill n the area with gravel, then buy some large pots and situate them so they show from the pooldeck.Simple, clean, and low maintenance since you can spray the gravel for weeds.

pjslawncare/landscap
03-15-2005, 11:50 PM