Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2005, 01:57 PM
lindhdg lindhdg is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 11
Question Keep blowing fuse

Any help would be appreciated. I installed a 600w transformer (2-300W circuits). On first circuit I have ~200w of lights, 6-20w spots, 3-17w path lights on a run of around 200 ft. On the second circuit I have 1-20w spot and 2-15w path lights on a run of about 100 ft. I have it set to go on at dusk. About 3-4 times a week when the lights kick on the breaker goes (25 amp breaker). It runs fine once I kick it back on. It just seems to be the initial switching on that causes a problem. I'm plugged into a ground fault switch and have the transformer mounted indoors. If I calculated correctly I should only be drawing about 2 amps. Any ideas? This installation is at my home and I'm not a lighting contractor, hopefully I posted in the right area. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:16 PM
NY Landscape Lighting's Avatar
NY Landscape Lighting NY Landscape Lighting is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: westchester county, ny
Posts: 121
keep blowing fuse

A 25 amp breaker is good. however are you sure nothing else in house is on the same breaker ie: garage or basement lights or outlets.You may have something else running on that breaker and when the outdoor lights come on it then trips. Days when it doesn't trip, perhaps the other items on that breaker aren't turned on.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:20 PM
lindhdg lindhdg is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 11
Blowing fuse

I also have my water softner on the same circuit. It should not be drawing electricity at dusk but I can try and reinstall the transformer so it is on its own circuit to rule this out. Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:45 PM
NY Landscape Lighting's Avatar
NY Landscape Lighting NY Landscape Lighting is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: westchester county, ny
Posts: 121
blown fuse

we have our elecrician run the GFI outlet on its own breaker to avoid any problems like this. Hope this works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2005, 07:44 PM
YardPro's Avatar
YardPro YardPro is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: coastal NC
Posts: 3,567
check to see if that same circut is not tied into the bathroom circut, etc...

also............ sounds to me like you're pushing about 18 amps

watts/volts=amps
235/13=18.07 amps
__________________
dingo tx425 and lots of attachments.
8 Vehicles
5 trailers
bobcat T200
way too much other crap
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2005, 10:02 AM
lindhdg lindhdg is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 11
keep blowing fuse

Thanks - it looks like I need to put this on its own circuit. You are also correct about the amps. Thanks for all the help. I'll let you know how things work out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.

Page generated in 0.08374 seconds with 7 queries