Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-13-2006, 05:51 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Going from 60" to 52" decks?

I have been running primarily 60" Exmarks for a couple years now cutting almost every property from 5,000 sq. ft. up to 3 acres, but I am giving a little thought to going to 52" decks. It seems that the smaller and/or more broken up properties would be easier to service with a 52" over a 60"

My thinking is this, sure the 60" will save time and cut more grass per hour but I am more concerned with quality than speed. I do not think on most properties unless they are larger, say over 1/2 acre, and more open that I really will be giving up that much with a 52".

The 52" is slightly more manuverable, has a better quality of cut on smaller properties, it will not scap as easy, and gets into some spots better than the 60".

What size decks do most guys on here run on their main cutting rigs? Has anybody dowsized to smaller decks? Did it work out well?

I should add that I do not like to cut the same property with different sized mower decks (if at all possible). I would prefer consistent sized stripes.

Your thoughts and comments are much appreciated.
Old 10-13-2006, 07:36 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

deck sizes

Hi Eclipse
My thoughts exactly, I've been toying with this idea for some time, the larger Z's for example have the 60" and the lesser HP have the smaller decks which make sense, I was looking at the 52" decks but saw that most people seem to use 60", but like yourself, the 52" would give a better cut, so I vote for 52" decks.
I now have a 42" GHS Walker, but in spring will get a Z, which one is yet to be determined, Exmark,Scag or Hustler, decisions, decisions
Dave
Old 10-13-2006, 07:39 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Why not just have both deck sizes on 2 different mowers??