Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-12-2000, 08:21 PM
LawnSite Member

i've asked this question before, know i just want to know how many of you use small trucks for your business and what you use? with the price of gas the way it is, and i'm just starting out i cant afford the big trucks, even though that's what i think i need. so in other words, i want you guys to tell me "it's ok get a small truck"...
Old 03-12-2000, 08:31 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

it's ok to get a small truck.
Old 03-12-2000, 08:33 PM
Banned

By small truck, do you mean full size pick-up? An S-10 or Ranger? I would use a full size truck if you can. &lt;p&gt;Make sure you don't get a four cylinder even if you have to use a small truck.<br>Also, if you get a small truck, trailer brakes might be helpful.&lt;p&gt;John
Old 03-12-2000, 08:52 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

If you have to buy a big truck next year the few dollars you save in gas this year will be long gone. <br> Not sure what equipment you have but I have a long box and a 16' trailer and I never have enough room unless I am just cutting a lawn. Of course I load my trailer like a boy scout,, &quot;always be prepared&quot; you can never have everything you need or want.
Old 03-12-2000, 09:07 PM
LawnSite Member

well i started last year with a v6-ranger it struggeld to pull the trailer and i hated it,but at least it was a truck...4 months later i bout a F-350 and now im happy,but if you cant afford to get a big truck then start with a small one and just take it easy on it.and i think trailer brakes would really help.
Old 03-12-2000, 09:10 PM
LawnSite Senior Member