Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 07-23-2001, 10:03 AM
LawnSite Member

Walker L/C Gas or 26EFI?

Am considering purchasing a new Walker.
I am impressed with the 26EFI technology but am equally impressed with the QUIETNESS of the L/C Kubota gas engine. Longevity notwithstanding.

Search did not come up with any comparisons on these two.

Does anyone have any firsthand (or secondhand) experience with these two that can offer any insight?

Thanks in advance.
Old 07-23-2001, 01:00 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

both are fine

i've run both. i prefer the 26hp efi, it is 100lbs. lighter (better on hills) and has less fuel usage. They are still too new to telll longevity.

The kubota gas has an excellent track record and there are some out there that have a couple thousand hours on them with no problems.

They are both nice units!!!
Old 07-26-2001, 12:18 AM
LawnSite Member

I'm a mechanic at a dealer in nothern ILL and have found that the walker is not at all a service friendly machine. Kohler engines are notorious for slow oil leaks and in the walker, to clean the cooling fins periodically you have to pull the engine to do so. In the past month alone my shop has put 3 short blocks in and done two valve jobs to walker mowers due to over-heating from clogged cooling fins. They are a very high maintenance machine. I suppose if you have the time and can do without your machine fairly often the walker is a good choice. Don't forget the engine is only about 3" above the ground and right in all the dirt and debris. It is a good grooming mower don't get me wrong but it is not a high production machine. Good Luck
Old 07-26-2001, 08:54 AM
LawnSite Member

Les,
The problems you're describing sound like they are all related to the Kohler air cooled engines. Am I right in this?
What is your opinion of the Kubota L/C Gas? Do they share the same issues?

Roger
Old 07-27-2001, 09:36 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Les,
You are confused!