Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-14-2007, 01:26 PM
LawnSite Member

Puzzler w/ B&S Intek 7HP mower engine

confused:
Attention Please:

Firstly, I'm new to this nice forum, and have searched on all B&S threads. Some clues but nothing on the head. Also, I'm very mechanically inclined and have rebuilt many 4-cycle engines.

Engine: Model 128602; Type 0212 E1
Problem: Engine will not start. Acquired the mower slightly used and not running. Cleaned up the carb and it ran fine but always required a prime for each start (even when warm) and almost always started w/ a backfire. After several weeks, it ultimately - on its "last minutes" - ran poorly (no throttle response). Attempts to start yielded at best only a backfire out thru the carb.

I removed the carb and thoroughly cleaned w/ solvent & compressed air. W/ carb attached to filtered fuel line, I blew compressed air thru its throat to create a venturi effect. Atomized fuel mixture emerged from the carb outlet, which tells me it probably ain't the carb.

Other conditions:
Intake gap: 0.010" (obviously a little high)
Exhaust gap: 0.007" (nominal)
Armature air gap: 0.010" - 0.011" (nominal)
Plug Gap: 0.020"

Compression status is reasonable (I think rings are fine).

With valve cover removed, I noted TDC and observed the valve train for 720 degrees. During the compression stroke, at between "7:30 & 11:00", I notice that the exhaust valve opens about 0.055"! This puzzles me no end and I must say I have never seen this behavior (pattern). Has ANYONE see this or can ANYONE confirm that this is "normal" on this B&S engine???