Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 02-07-2008, 01:18 AM
LawnSite Member

Soccer field help

Im a high school soccer coach who is finally coming to grips that if I want to play on a half way decent field that I am going to have to maintain it myself to keep it in playing condition
I am in Southern California and our current problem that we have is that when it does rain we have puddles down the middle of the field. I think that we first need to fill in the low lying areas, but Im not sure how or what to use to level the field out. Need lots of help
taking all recommendations
dennis
Old 02-07-2008, 06:48 AM
LawnSite Member

Hello Coach.

I need to know some information. What type of turf do you have? What type of soil do you have? When is your playing season? What type of budget do you have to work with? What type of equipment do you have access to?

Once we get some of that information we can work on a game plan.

I dealt with the exact same situation this past summer.
Old 02-07-2008, 02:25 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

1. Are the puddles occuring where the field recieves most of its abuse
2. do you already have an irrigation system in place
3. What is the soil make up.consist of right now
5. What type of turf grass do you have on the playing field

Here is what I will start with. pretty much all fields need to be designed to shed water. Typicaly on a foot ball or soccer field this will consist of a crwned playing surface where the middle is higher than the sides. Over time and without proper upkeep the crown or higher area will compct down typicaly because this is where the majoirty of the plyaing or use of the field is. If this is the cas a quick fix to the problem would be to fill the lower areas and bring them back to the right level so that the field will drain properly again. However if the field is not set up properly and many are not you will always have low spots that will create havoc.