Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-08-2002, 08:19 AM
LawnSite Member

Tax time coming

I classify my lawn operation as "part time" employment because I also have a full time job. My question is does anyone else do this and because this is my first time doing taxes for my business can I still take the deductions on my vehicle miles and equipment even though it is part time. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-08-2002, 02:09 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Yes you can deduct vehicle expenses, but you have to have a detailed log on what miles were business and what were personal so the percentage of business can be deducted.

There is two ways for the deductions too. Check with the irs website to see which way is best for you (or which you are able to do)
Old 01-08-2002, 02:24 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Hello,

I'm not sure what this 'part time' classification you have means.

If you are running a business along with working full time, the business, in the eyes of the IRS and state is considered FULL TIME from my own experiences.

What this means, is you treat it just as a regular, full time business.

Writing off the vehicle is going to be tricky......you are going to have to keep very good records on the mileage and also learn the codes on how to treat it as a deduction.

For instance, if you drive to work, then go directly from work to the job, and then drive home from the job, you may think that you can write off ALL of the mileage because you technically had to drive the same way to work anyway as you did to the job. The fact is, you will have to deduct the round trip mileage from your full time job as personal mileage, and may only be able to deduct the mileage on top of that as a business expense.