Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-06-2000, 11:31 AM
LawnSite Member

I kinda told about myself a while back but never actually jumped in on the Who, What, Where posts of earlier. I wanted to give you all this info. so you can better help to answer my questions and see where I am coming from. I am a 23 year old male living in Lexington, KY. The town is primarily suburban sprawl with 250,000 people roughly. I am looking to start out this spring offering a full line of services. I have a degree in biology from a liberal arts college here in town. Very respectable college. I have one semester under my belt at the Univ. of KY College of Agriculture. My degree will be in Plant and Soil Sciences: area of emphasis Horticultural Enterprise Management with a subspecialty in landscape design. The classes are cool and I love what I am doing&lt;---this is the most important. I have three semesters to go before I will be finished. Don't worry I can handle the full time load and work also. I got a 4.0 last semester and I was also working. I have about six months of Landscape Maintenance experience working for a contractor of one of the biggest hospitals up here. This was my first experience of how uneducated this field really is. I immediately became the one relied upon for any important projects. I was in charge of design for the spring bulbs and I am kinda excited to see how that goes. I've also done a number of other little things that have added a lot of beauty to the hospital. Additionally, I worked all summer mowing for some rich people. I used their Grasshopper 60&quot; ZTR mower to mow 10.6 acres. Started out taking 8-9 hours to mow, trim, and blow, now only 5-6. Amazing how quickly we learn things and become better in order to reduce time. Bad thing was I was getting paid by the hour--$10. I have already had classes in both plant pathology(disease) and entomology(insects). I know this stuff pretty darn good too. Though