Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 10-27-2008, 06:35 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

New Hockey Field

I am a landscape contractor who has plenty of experience renovating residential lawns. I usually use round up to kill the existing lawn, power rake it, lime, seed with a tall fescue, and apply a starter fertilizer about 7 days later.

This is going to be my first athletic field to be used for field hockey, it also is going to be a donation to the school from me. The current condition is about a 1 on a scale of 1-10. I was thinking about approaching it the same way as a residential property, round up, raking, lime seed, fert. If any of you have a different approach let me know. I also need an opinion on a type of seed and variety that will be able to cut short in the fall. I would like to use bluegrass but there will not be any irrigation and will have to rely on rainfall. I am located in southeastern Pa so will need to use a cool season grass.

Thanks
Old 10-31-2008, 09:17 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I have good and recent experience almost exactly like your own. My DSL and telephone lines are out and am writing this from handheld/cell phone. Will respond more fully from computer over the weekend. Are you starting this yet this fall?
Old 10-31-2008, 02:54 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by foreplease View Post
I have good and recent experience almost exactly like your own. My DSL and telephone lines are out and am writing this from handheld/cell phone. Will respond more fully from computer over the weekend. Are you starting this yet this fall?

I can start now but it might be too late to seed here. I might want to get all the grading done though. I usually don't like to seed in the spring since we have to much competion with crabgrass and weeds but I might now have a choice.
Old 11-02-2008, 01:08 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

JNyz,
Still without my land line here but wanted to get back to your thread and proposed field.