Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:29 PM
CAPT Stream Rotar's Avatar
CAPT Stream Rotar CAPT Stream Rotar is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 5,456
I cut a mismarked telephone wire today

The H/o was PISSED!


it wasn't my fault if the company doesnt mark their lines properly...

H/O had a tough time dealing with that..

but it was an old wire with what I green, red, black, yellow..
but only the green and red looked like they went into the house.. after some stupid carry through port..

I tried like a mo fo to find where we cut it and couldn't.. clearly it was mismarked...which pissed me off...


anyone here made these kind of splices?

please help.

btw the old lady had a miscaraige...eh....maybe next time..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:39 PM
irritation's Avatar
irritation irritation is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,542
I always use my locator for phone and cable drops after they mark them. Around here you have to allow for 3' on either side of the mark.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:44 PM
CAPT Stream Rotar's Avatar
CAPT Stream Rotar CAPT Stream Rotar is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 5,456
how do you hook up wire tracker to a live telephone line?

this one I cut did have a wire with it..is that a tracer wire i guess?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2010, 06:21 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPT Stream Rotar View Post
how do you hook up wire tracker to a live telephone line?

this one I cut did have a wire with it..is that a tracer wire i guess?
i'm so sorry about the baby ed, so very sorry.

you use the end off of a line cord with the rj11 jack adapter, strip an end to connect the 521 to and insert the rj11 into the modular jack in the interface.

first you have to disconnect the line cord to the house, replace it with yours and locate as usual.

another way is to connect to the b-box or interface ground with the 521/pro-700 (you do this the same for live power) and locate normally.

if you are really congested you can run the cable sheath, connect to the cable with a self piercing clip or (best) strip a piece of the shield back.never connect the TDR to any phone line unless it's a spair pair at the pole.





again i'm really sorry about the baby
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:48 PM
irritation's Avatar
irritation irritation is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,542
Inductive clamp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:48 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,692
Sympathies to the missus, Rotar.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:51 PM
Some Sprinkler Guy Some Sprinkler Guy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 167
I have fixed them many times with multistrand. Its not shielded but I figure it won't matter for just the splice. Beats having a mad customer.

Homeowners that get mad about stuff like that are IDIOTS.

Sorry to hear about the wife man.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2010, 05:59 PM
CAPT Stream Rotar's Avatar
CAPT Stream Rotar CAPT Stream Rotar is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 5,456
thanks guys..

I'm pretty beat up...trying to stay positive..

Boots are you familiar with those two wires? red green?

am i off in saying that its a simple splice and reconnect to the terminal and we are all set?

thats what it seems like...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2010, 06:05 PM
Some Sprinkler Guy Some Sprinkler Guy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPT Stream Rotar View Post
thanks guys..

I'm pretty beat up...trying to stay positive..

Boots are you familiar with those two wires? red green?

am i off in saying that its a simple splice and reconnect to the terminal and we are all set?

thats what it seems like...
The red and green is nornally line 1. The others are for addtl. Lines.

At least that's the way it is around here.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2010, 06:05 PM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,692
Phone wires should be easy to deal with. I think you have red and green, then yellow and black for a second line. There has to be a junction box outside, and from there you can connect a locater, after first unplugging the house. That lets you work from the house back to the street.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 PM.

Page generated in 0.12384 seconds with 8 queries