Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 11-15-2002, 11:36 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Cell Phone Number ONLY in Ads

I'm wondering if anyone lists only their cell phone number in ads. I just ran an ad in a local free shopper paper for leaf clean-up and listed only my cell phone number. The add says it's my cell phone too, as I didn't want people not recognizing the exchange and thinking I wasn't in their area.

I have always listed only my business number in the past, but then people call and I'm not in (one man show), or they talk to my wife and she can't really help them. Sometimes by the time I get back to them, it's too late...found someone else.

I was a little reluctant to do this because I don't want to create and image that I'm a vagrant landscaper. And I don't really want to list both numbers, because then they may leave messages in two places and just confuse me. Besides, my cell phone really is the best way to reach me.

I've found that if I answer the phone or call back in a couple minutes and make an appointment to look at the job on the same day, I almost always get it.

Your thoughts?
Old 11-16-2002, 07:14 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

I use my cell # on everything and I always have my phone with me. That way customers do not normally have to leave a message.
www.hrbuyersandsellers.com
WE BUY HOUSES
Old 11-16-2002, 11:33 AM
LawnSite Member

couldn't you get a call forward service from your phone co?? when somebody calls your business phone call will be forwarded to your cell phone.

or, what i do, i check my messages that are on my business phone hourly. what i hate bout people calling my cell is that i may be involved with a customer, when you excuse yourself to take the call might it make the customer feel less important than the one calling??

or, just allow your wife to take a message, ask for a phone number the customer can be reached at, then your wife calls you on your cell and you return the call?
Old 11-16-2002, 11:53 AM