Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-26-2012, 10:47 AM
LawnSite Member

Small town just starting up....need advice

I'm a teacher in a small town. I have two boys that are getting to the age that they need to learn some hard work. When I was their ages (8 & 11) I was driving a tractor on the family farm. Yeah, a bit early, but we loved it. Now we're cranking up a lawn mowing business. There are two older people that mow that will be getting out of it sooner than later.

I have a rider for big lots and a Snapper HiVac for smaller yards. I'm looking to get a walk behind with a sulky. I'm looking at the Scag Pro-V Walk behind 36" but am wavering to maybe get the 48". Of course, this would kill the gate issue and I'd just have to use my Snapper in those situations.

Need advice on the Scags. Nobody in my town has one and it intrigues me. Is it underpowered????
Old 04-26-2012, 02:26 PM
LawnSite Member

Quinter - that is a small town, been there once. Know of a family or 2 there, so that's like 5% of population right there

I have not used the Scag walk behind, but I understand they are very rugged and do a great QOC. I'm sure you would have some Agr. dealers around but is there a Scag dealer local?... or over in Hays where you may check one out. For that matter they may allow you to demo one for a day.

There is a stander option if you are concerned about big yards through small gates. Probably a moot pt since your sons will be doing all the hard work anyways.
Old 04-26-2012, 03:56 PM
LawnSite Member

Wow

You've been to Quinter? Wow. I do like the option of a stander, but let me tell you a ridiculous thing I've found out. People in this part of the country won't pay for what it's worth, especially if it looks easy. Therefore, if I bought a stander which was always ridden, it would look easier.