Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 06-12-2012, 02:11 PM
LawnSite Member

Repair and Maintenance of Hunter System

I have finally, after 4 years of begging, gotten a commercial property owner to allow me to service the irrigation system. I have maintained everything on the property except the irrigation for 6 seasons now. I have a general knowledge of irrigation systems, but I'm no expert.

Here is what I know:

* I estimate there are 25 zones with 8 to 12 heads per zone
* I know for sure, at this point, there are 17 heads which needs to be replaced
* I know the controller is messed up. The system is supposed to run early morning, but it currently fires around 1PM.

Here what I need to know:

* What and how should I charge to change heads?
* What and how should I charge to manually fire the system to see if any other heads are broken and to realign any heads needing it?
* Should I set the system to water a shorter time but twice a day?

I am in Southeast Kansas (Pittsburg) where the summers get hot (100+) and I have typically lost grass in the summers.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and experience!
Old 06-12-2012, 02:59 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Jeremy what is the going service rate in your area? Time and materials is the way I'd go. As for programming the system a lot needs to be determined. What is your rate of application?, soil type?, plant type?, Will you adjust the system several times over the summer and fall as needed? I've barely scratched the surface on what you need to consider in programming the controller and maintaining the system.

KSU extension is your best bet for ET information and such.
http://www.ksre.ksu.edu/wdl/
Old 06-13-2012, 01:25 PM
LawnSite Member

No one is sure what the going rate around here is. Most folks don't wanna spend money on irrigation so they have a system installed at construction and then get into the situation we are in right now.