Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-24-2012, 07:58 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

How do you scale a lawn/landscaping business?

I'm a sole proprietor and have been for the past 7 years. I started my business in Highschool and operated it through college. I graduated in 2010 (college) and with that I was able to focus solely on growing my business. Now I have quite a few accounts - all a combination of Churches, businesses, and residentials. I know for a fact I could grow more if I had more help. The problem I am running into with this is people either not wanting to help/perform manual labor, or people don't last long. Is their any remedy to this?

Additionally, lets say I was able to hire 1, maybe 2 good workers next year and start a crew. What's a good salary percentage to take out of the business for me? What is it like taking (I'm assuming) a big pay cut the first few years of operation to be able to have a crew? I ask this because now all profit goes into pocket, add workers and the additional expenses and it does not.
Old 09-24-2012, 11:11 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

Putting the cart in front of the horse.
You want to hire two employees when you have enough work for just you.

Then you ask how much you can pay yourself. Duh, you know your gross, costs, net. Hire an employee your costs go up net goes who knows where because how much additional work will be done by increasing your work force.

Planning on getting more work and actually doing it does not always match.

I would add one employee at first once you have more work then you can handle.

Old 10-13-2012, 08:19 PM
LawnSite Member

If you add more clients, your income goes up. This is the income that will pay for the employees. You need to figure out what you need to make to live comfortably and not take all of the profit. It may be a big paycut if you are taking all of the profit right now.