Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 12-11-2012, 12:55 AM
LawnSite Member

When to, And how to hire first employee, or employees

I have been doing it solo for the past 3 years and i tihnk i am ready to hire someone and hopefully 2-3. It has been hard since i am only 22.

I am just looking for input or advice on how or what you guys did to get that first employee or employees and how you went about it.

I Have enough work to keep me busy a good 10-13 hours a day during peek seasons and an average of 8 a day during summer. but i am trying to triple my business this year. cant get anywhere if you dont set goals right?

Thanks for the input.
Old 12-11-2012, 12:56 AM
LawnSite Member

also, i have around 25 custmers i service weekly and other odds and ends stuff.
Old 12-11-2012, 03:03 AM
LawnSite Member

I'm running in to the same issue at the moment. Myself and a friend have ran the business for the last 4 years, but it's becoming too much so we will likely focus on landscaping, and hire someone to take the load off the cuts. I'd appreciate any advice people have on the hiring and training process (especially considering that we are both young, and being a manager will be something new to us).
Old 12-11-2012, 08:22 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

When to, And how to hire first employee, or employees

Take a business class, read up on HR ask a person in HR questions. I have had no luck with employees they never tripled my income just the opposite the only thing you gain is time with your family when things go right and less hard work on you when they decide to show up.
You must realize that everything you do by yourself will be be done slower and with less care. Oh and dont forget that their problems now become yours its like having a child. Good luck
Old 12-11-2012, 08:48 AM
LawnSite Member