Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 12-12-2012, 02:55 PM
LawnSite Member

Skid Steer VS Excavator

Good day gentlemen,

I use that term loosely . I am new in the business and thinking about a purchase down the line...skid steer or excavator?

I'm thinking of going with Bobcat miniex 418 or the mini S70 with backhoe atatchment.

What are your thought? excavator or skid steer and why?

Cheers,
Vlad
Old 12-12-2012, 03:08 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

We use our mini way more than the skidsteer, so that will be my recommendation but others may disagree. I definitely would not buy a skid with a backhoe attachment they are not very productive, just rent until you can afford to buy what you need. It also depends on what kind of work you typically do.
Old 12-12-2012, 04:11 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

This topic comes up about 3 times a year.

If you do a search you should find the most recent topic.

It's important to consider a gazillion different factors. And in the most recent topic I've shared paragragh after paragragh after paragragh with my thoughts and experiences.

If you can't find the topic, click on my user name and them click on "find all posts from" and sooner or later you'll find it.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 12-12-2012, 06:13 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime Interlock View Post
Good day gentlemen,

I use that term loosely . I am new in the business and thinking about a purchase down the line...skid steer or excavator?

I'm thinking of going with Bobcat miniex 418 or the mini S70 with backhoe atatchment.

What are your thought? excavator or skid steer and why?

Cheers,
Vlad
New in the business, what about playing it smart and using a wheelbarrow and shovel.
Old 12-12-2012, 07:34 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

I would lease both.
But in reality those excavator attachments are garbage. I had one for a few years. Used it twice and it took me three months to sell it for 2500
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 12-12-2012, 09:02 PM