Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-29-2012, 11:20 PM
LawnSite Member

Tough Decision Ahead - Input Appreciated

I've been mowing lawns for the past 5 years as a small side business while I went to high school and now college. I always had a part time job along with mowing lawns, so that wasn't my only income. I worked at a grocery store for almost 3 years and a home improvement store in the lumber yard for a summer, then I found this job.
I'm half way through my second year of college, where I'm going to school to be a Diesel/Heavy Equipment Technician. In September I got a job working at an International Truck Dealership, working nights after school. When I graduate in May they're going to offer me full time, working nights (3:30pm-12 midnight) .
I'm trying to rationally weigh my options of staying in the mechanic field or whether I should try to pursue a career mowing lawns, landscaping, snow removal etc.
I've tried thinking of pros and cons of each, I have talked to other mechanics about that field, but I don't have contact with any other LCO's in my area that I can talk with.
What I ask of you guys is to help me with a list of pros and cons or even just some kind words to help me make a logical decision. I'm sure some others on here have gone through similar situations and can offer some advise or words of wisdom. Everything is appreciated!