Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-11-2013, 01:05 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I have a question for all you lawn mowing vets

I am pretty new to the lawn care community. I started last year with just a push mower in the bed of my truck. By mid summer I had saved enough money to buy a husqvarna 54 inch, 24 HP zero turn mower. I like it, and although not a heavy duty commercial series mower, it gets the job done for me right now. I only had about 8 people that I mowed for very regularly last year with a few who called when they needed it. This upcoming season I am looking to expand my mowing and go after it much harder. And with expansion I want to get another mower. I am not looking to necessarily buy something brand new, but I don't want a piece of crap either. I am wondering what people think is the best walk behind or zero turn out there for a growing company. I am looking at john deere, exmark, toro, etc. Any opinions are greatly appreciated.

www.yardbros.com
Old 01-11-2013, 04:27 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

If you have gates to deal with then a smaller WB mower might be a good investment...like a 32 or 36.
Best advice: go measure your gates first.
A smaller WB mower will also come in handy for areas you'd rather not use your 54 (or 21).
Some folks are so contrary that if they fell into a river,
they'd insist on floating upstream.
~ Josh Billings
Old 01-11-2013, 09:07 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

You will need to provide much more information regarding your business in order to get meaningful answers.

A few things:
Size the yards (smallest,most typical, largest)
Terrain (flat, slopes, steep)
Transportation (trailer size, ...)
Local dealerships
Bagging, mulching, discharging ....?
Gates(?), configuration of yards
Long term plans for your business

This kind of information will undoubtedly get you better responses.
Old 01-11-2013, 09:14 PM
LawnSite Fanatic