Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2013, 02:31 PM
JMMack JMMack is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 16
screeding base

what method are you using to screed (if you do screed at all) the stone base?

in other words, do you set screed pipes at your desired slope to screed the last 1" or 1-1/2" of base material?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2013, 04:09 PM
neversatisfiedj's Avatar
neversatisfiedj neversatisfiedj is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampstead,MD
Posts: 989
Yes sir thats the way. I screed all my lifts. I like a flat base from start to finish. I find that it compacts better that way.
__________________
Josh

Creative Hardscapes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2013, 04:32 PM
Clarkscape Clarkscape is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sandwich,MA
Posts: 20
Yes, I use 1" pipe, set to the grade and pitch I want the paver to sit on. You should not use stone or base material on top 1"; instead use bedding sand.
It sounds like this may be your first job...consider hooking up with someone who has some experience before you move forward. Mistakes can be costly to fix when it comes to this work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2013, 04:43 PM
alldayrj's Avatar
alldayrj alldayrj is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Long island, NY
Posts: 3,183
i'm pretty nice with the base rake, then I use rails for the sand
__________________
RJ All Day
Masonry and Landscapes
www.rjfalcone.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2013, 05:04 PM
JMMack JMMack is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 16
its not my first job, I've built a few patios, just was curious to see how everyone was getting their base exact. I personally screed it using 1' iron pipe set to desired grade
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2013, 06:12 PM
DVS Hardscaper's Avatar
DVS Hardscaper DVS Hardscaper is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: County Jail
Posts: 5,908
We do not screed base aggregate. Rakes. Compact. Check with line level.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2013, 09:26 PM
jbailey52's Avatar
jbailey52 jbailey52 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horticulture
Posts: 1,053
Screed your aggregate base lifts?? Man, that just sounds silly. I mean I guess there is more than one way to skin a cat. I also bet if I changed the oil in my truck every Saturday that would be better, but just plain silly
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2013, 11:24 AM
big daddy b's Avatar
big daddy b big daddy b is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Syracuse, NY
Posts: 95
Yeah we don't screed the sub base aggregate in, we set up the perimeter with string lines using a laser level, depending on the pitch we'll use checker lines across field from string line to string line to get it roughed in, then the final tamp before we screed setting bed we go over the whole thing with the laser.
__________________
www.nelliganco.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2013, 11:31 AM
alldayrj's Avatar
alldayrj alldayrj is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Long island, NY
Posts: 3,183
I have a big 16' screeder board for concrete, so if we have perimeter strings i will use the board to check the middle for humps and dips
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2013, 12:29 PM
zedosix's Avatar
zedosix zedosix is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 2,429
[size=1]Posted via Mobile Device[/size
We screed the ag base to get it as accurate as possible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Page generated in 0.09804 seconds with 7 queries