Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 02-26-2013, 02:43 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Need help on spray boom construction

I'm building a boom for the front of my Hustler 60" X-One using a 25 gallon electric sprayer with a 2gpm pump. I've got the mounting of the tank covered as well as the boom support, but I have never done applications using any kind of boom before. I've always used a chemlawn gun so I'm not experienced with tips, nozzles, etc. I need advice on what to use, spacing, and boom height. I prefer a 6' swath and will be using this for pre and post emergent apps. As far as gpm app rate, I'm open to suggestions. Thanks, Larry

Larry-YardBoss Lawncare
8 years in the business.
Oklahoma Licensed Pesticide Applicator (3a)
2013 F-150
2013 Hawkline 7x16 Enclosed Trailer
2012 Hustler X-One 60", 26hp, Flex Forks, Mulch Kit
Echo Handhelds
Custom Built Sprayer

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=417009

Old 02-26-2013, 03:04 PM
LawnSite Member

I have a 14 ft breakaway boom made by wylie's on the back of my atv. I use a flojet 4.9 gpm pump on a 25 gallon tank with yellow 110 degree ss(1002) teejet tips at 20" spacing. I also like the no drip nozzle body's better. I run 25-40 gallons/acre at 2.5-4.0 mph. I adjust my mixing and application rate and speed depending on what i'm applying, weather and terrain. AI tips probably handle wind better, but don't look as even this time of year on dormant bermuda, if your using dye.
Old 02-26-2013, 03:09 PM
LawnSite Member

Check out <www.teejet.com>. They have specs on their tips. I'm using the xr line. 110 degree is for 20" height 80" for 30" height.
Old 02-26-2013, 03:36 PM
LawnSite Member