Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-10-2013, 09:39 AM
LawnSite Member

first bid and grass is 8"+ DID I BID TO LOW??

Ok so this is my first year at it and I just recieved my first call from a CL posting. The guy said he has neglected his yard due to a new 12 hour+ work schedule and he wanted a quote for an initial cut and then weekly thereafter.

His lot is 12k square feet. I had preivously decided to start at $35 a yard as a minimum since all my equiptment is paid for and im a single man operation. I blind quoted him (I don't plan to always do this but its about 25 minute drive) the $35 a week as long as there are no surprises and $50 for the initial mow. He said he is comfortable paying whatever I think I need when I see it in the condition it is and $35 a week sound fair thereafter.

I know the drive is a bit further than I want but its a nice neighborhood and hopefully I can gain more clients there in the future.

Here is my big question. Is $50 to low for an cut on 8" grass? Also we had a big rain last night and its overcast with chance of rain today. I'm a little worried about cutting such high grass wet. Should I give it a day to dry?

Sorry if these are stupid questions, but I would rather know what im walking into from experienced guys than find out my mistake half way through it
Old 05-10-2013, 09:51 AM
LawnSite Member

I would charge a little more for the first cut depending on how the landscape is laid out, also take into mind can your equipment handle that high of grass? If you need to use a 21 or 22 in on any parts of the lawn you most likely wont be able to get through it unless changing your cutting heights.
1995 Ford 7.3L powerstroke dump
1997 Ford 7.3L powerstroke dump
2005 Ford F350 powerstroke w/ fisher mm2
1986 Case Skidsteer
1999 Daewoo 1785L skidsteer
Belmar 7x18 Equipment
Lark 8x18 enclosed
Belmar 6x14 open
Wright Sentar Sport RH & Stander
Everride Hornet ZTR
Honda push mowers