Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-20-2013, 11:00 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

Use of College Degree's

My son is interested in possibly going to school for a degree in Turf Managment. My question is where in the industry can this be useful, or even an absolute necessity? I don't think it would be a good use of his money if he is just going to start his own company and provide the basic services. I would think it might we better to take business classes at night and build the company by day and not have to wait another 2 years of schooling for no real benefit in the business. That's my feelings but what do you all think?
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 05-20-2013, 12:08 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey there... always enjoy your posts so I thought I would contribute..... I recently took the plunge and started my own business. I have about 15 years experience in the industry and during those 15 years I literally did it all... Everything from mowing to plantings to hardscapes to landscaping installs to topiary. The guy I worked under for those 15 years, my old Boss, my mentor..... He got a degree if turf management from the Stockbridge School at Umass Amherst.... Did that degree do anything for him or help him start and run his business? No, I don't think it did. I think he learned a lot but he started a landscaping business doing all the things mentioned above, not taking care of athletic fields or golf courses or sod farms.... There is currently no schooling that will prepare you for doing a lawn install on Monday, a small paver walkway on Tuesday, and then cutting 80 lawns from Wensday through Friday... The only thing that will prepare you for this is experience(work and life) I myself have a bachelors degree in Political Science (alot of good that did me huh?) But I can guarantee you that because of my experience in the industry, that I know more about running a landscaping/lawn care business than someone with half of my expe