Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2013, 11:28 PM
Snyder's Lawn Inc's Avatar
Snyder's Lawn Inc Snyder's Lawn Inc is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kirksville Mo
Posts: 3,633
Key to a Toro Custom Command Box

I have a problem.
I pick up a New account and I set the controller and next day. Some how the program changed.
Start time 5am 9 zones at 15min is what I had it set at.
Next day at noon was still running. I check box it was moved to B from A.
On B it was set 3 hrs per zone.
So I thought maybe I bump it to B.
So I set it back on A and check each zone on the controller and lock the box.

This has done this 3 different times. Manager and I have a key , he said has not touch it.

Is the Controller bad ?

Will any Toro key work on any Toro box?

Im thinking someone getting in there. Trying make my service look bad.

This is on a Box Store Lawn account. I'm thinking a higher bidder is a sore looser.

The box sits out in the lawn. I thought about mounting my trail cam to see who getting in there.
__________________
Snyder's New Lawn Service Inc.
Since 1981
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2013, 11:39 PM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,626
More then likely User error. You are aware if there is programming in a, b,c,d implented in, as long as it's in the run position it will all run .

For example
Program A Every other day @15 Min each zone @ 9am
Program B Every other day @ 3 hours each zone @ 9am

The controller will stack this programming- once it's done with PGM A it will go to B.

-Create a dummy run time with 1 program only to ensure it comes on for you.
- Erase all programming and start fresh.

Verify and Confirm- That's the best thing for you to do. Once you have done both- you will know what to do. If you can't figure this out, please get someone in who knows what they are doing. I highly doubt 15 min each zone is the proper programming anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2013, 11:45 PM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,626
Not every Toro key- However there is a Keymaster @ like $50 of like 25 keys for all major brand irrigation controllers..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2013, 12:46 AM
jbell36 jbell36 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 1,215
i can almost guarantee that it's user error and the programs are stacked...concentrate on program A ONLY...delete ALL other programs...also, double your station run times and you will be more in the ballpark...have you checked what zones are what (sprays/rotors)?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2013, 05:22 AM
DPlumber DPlumber is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2
I've had that problem with RB ESP-M. Set an unused program run time to zero and it swithches to the next position after I set it, 6 hours. Customer was perplexed when his sprinklers ran for 6 hours when I turned it on a few months ago. Then it happend again yesterday with another customer, happily I caught it as I was rechecking the run times before leaving.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2013, 06:13 AM
greenmonster304's Avatar
greenmonster304 greenmonster304 is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: You Know
Posts: 2,393
Custom command will run multiple programs at once.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:04 AM
Snyder's Lawn Inc's Avatar
Snyder's Lawn Inc Snyder's Lawn Inc is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kirksville Mo
Posts: 3,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbell36 View Post
i can almost guarantee that it's user error and the programs are stacked...concentrate on program A ONLY...delete ALL other programs...also, double your station run times and you will be more in the ballpark...have you checked what zones are what (sprays/rotors)?
First time I thought it was my error.
Well I deleted all other programs I have deleted each time it mess up B C D programs was and is shut off, But 3 times. Some how they program there self

First time it was like set for noon 2nd time it was set for 3pm and this last time was set a 5am for each zone at 3hrs.

I put a secure tape on there. To find out if box gets open. Tape broken next time I'll put my trail cam up.
__________________
Snyder's New Lawn Service Inc.
Since 1981
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:07 AM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,357
shut the days off on the programs you don't want. Easiest way to keep em from running.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-18-2013, 10:39 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,644
You know, from a locksmith standpoint, it's pretty damn easy to replace a controller lock with something keyed differently.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-18-2013, 02:05 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
Posts: 20,569
In spite of Toro getting their grubby hands on it, the clock was a good one, basically a Hardie/Irritrol "Total Control" on steroids. It takes a standard key, I believe it has a password feature that can be entered.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 AM.

Page generated in 0.08075 seconds with 7 queries