Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 11-19-2013, 01:14 PM
LawnSite Member

Thoughts on skidsteer backhoe attachment?

Hey everybody, just looking for some opinions on a skidsteer backhoe attachment. Before I start, I know it isn't gonna hold a match to a mini ex, but a mini ex isn't in the cards right now. The story is it's a 2002 bobcat 709 backhoe attachment that has never been used. It's on tender as surplus equipment from a municipality that I work for, its in brand new condition (I've been keeping an eye on it for the past 5 years). I researched the specs and it seems to be a capable piece, and can be carried by my skidsteer (just barely). I do realize the PITA of having to switch seats to move the machine, but right now my options are renting equipment or using shovels . . .

3 years in business, 28 residential & 4 commercial contracts
Old 11-19-2013, 01:17 PM
LawnSite Member

Also, We only do the occasional excavation job, a large percentage of use I would put on this unit would be around my own property, and around my parents property. If the excavating jobs take off and prove to be fruitful, I'd be more than willing to upgrade to a mini ex.

Old 11-19-2013, 04:41 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Make sure your machine will move it, and you have a way to hook it to the loader arms or it's almost useless and you'll break pins.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 11-19-2013, 06:02 PM
LawnSite Gold Member

I used to run a Bobcat (I think 811) backhoe attachment. It was a late 90's or 2000 model. I thought it was both powerful and productive. I did over 3000' of trenching with it. Sure, a mini ex or trencher would have been faster but it's what I had and it worked great. The only drawback was hauling it around. It was heavy and bulky but I liked using it and the hydraulics were smooth.

"Life is tough, but it's tougher if you're stupid."

Twitter @Cedar_Clearing
Old 11-19-2013, 09:45 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member