Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 01-31-2014, 11:15 PM
LawnSite Member

Sales cycle in HOAs and Commercial accounts?

Hello!

I'm new to the business. My father has been mowing residential properties for about 4 years plus. He brought me on board to branch out into commercial and HOAs. So far I have a few interests here and there, but no sale yet! How does the sales cycle go?

My experience has been that I just go in person, ask for the decision maker and those that seem interested I keep contacting, but I have not closed anything yet. What is the usual experience for some of you? How long does it take to close a deal? Any special tactics? Thanks for sharing!
Old 02-01-2014, 02:12 AM
LawnSite Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenscapesG View Post
Hello!

I'm new to the business. My father has been mowing residential properties for about 4 years plus. He brought me on board to branch out into commercial and HOAs. So far I have a few interests here and there, but no sale yet! How does the sales cycle go?

My experience has been that I just go in person, ask for the decision maker and those that seem interested I keep contacting, but I have not closed anything yet. What is the usual experience for some of you? How long does it take to close a deal? Any special tactics? Thanks for sharing!
So…(let me get this straight)…you just wander about, aimlessly wandering in to businesses and hope to land a sale randomly?

No prior experience, no training, no clue?

What would you do if someone said yes, they would like a bid?

Would you roll a bucket full of yahtzee dice, add up the numbers add some zeros and hope that's a good price to do whatever services occur to you through out the year?

This honestly sounds like a lot of fun, but…once in the not too distant past… something like this occurred a lot.