Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-03-2014, 09:16 PM
LawnSite Member

Overseed or Start over?

I am very new to the lawn care industry and my first project is going to be my own lawn well technically my parents lawn. We have not had much luck over the past few years getting a good lawn established and I'm hoping you guys can give me some advice. Overall we have about 1 acre of grass, the front yard being half of that it gets about 4-5 hours of direct sunlight in the morning and drains very well. The back yard gets good sunlight for most of the day but most of it is shaded by large oak trees in the woods around the house. Half of the back yard drains well and never has good grass always seems to dry out and die the other half is a low spot next to wetlands that never drains most of the time i have to wait several days after a rain just to be able to mow it without getting my ZTR stuck in the mud but the grass in this spot is rich and a nice dark green. The whole yard is covered by an underground sprinkler system. I want to do this right so do you guys think this yard can be saved with proper seeding, fertilization and weed control, or should i strip it and start over? Sorry for the long post but I have already learned a lot from this site and I am hoping you guys can teach me some more!
Old 03-03-2014, 09:21 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Soil test.
Old 03-03-2014, 09:48 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Fix the drainage first. Get an irrigation company that also does drainage tiles. Then fix the irrigation if it dries out in the summer. You need to separate the zones so that wet areas can get less minutes and the dry sunny areas more. What kind of grass? Mostly perennial rye, I suspect. Areas close to the woods are probably too shady to grow any kind of grass.

Perhaps you could overseed with a high-quality disease resistant variety:
http://pickseed.com/usa/find/showproduct.php?id=247
Make sure any variety you choose is resistant to gray leaf spot and red thread.