Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-23-2014, 11:02 AM
LawnSite Member

Compost tea to cure poor soil?

Hello all,

I am new to compost tea and have come across a decent brewer. I'm going to start offering applications but I want to offer my clientele something practical. According to what I have read compost tea will aerate and transform poor and compacted soil. Most every lawn in this area has poor soil with maybe 50% of actual grass. Most all soil here has a high clay percentage, is compacted, and is quite acidic. Phosphorous is also naturally deficient.

My question is this:

At what point is completely renovating the lawn more practical than a mixture of over seeding, selective weed control, and compost / compost tea applications? This is an art and a science so I know that the best I can get are tips / guidelines. I can surely post pictures and describe in more detail.

Thank you for your consideration,

Vic
Old 03-24-2014, 10:22 AM
Sponsor

Hi Vic;

Welcome to compost tea....

My suggestion would to begin with a soil test so you can determine the organic matter % of the soil and at least some of the basics of your pH and nutrients.

From there, you can formulate a basic plan of action. It sounds like what you have going on there may be beyond what compost tea can offer. First, CT will help to build organic matter, but this is a very slow process (your clients may not have the patience to wait for this).

Good soil structure can only be achieved and maintained by addressing fundamentals such as adding organic matter (5%+ is widely accepted). Without this, you'll be constantly seeding, aggressively adding soil amendments and turning up weed seeds every time you aerate (which will be often).

Chances are, your soils contain sufficient Phosphorous; It's very likely that you don't have the biology (beneficial fungi) to mineralize it into a plant available form. Remember that most soil tests only quantify available nutrients in soils.