Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2014, 07:53 AM
ArTurf ArTurf is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ark
Posts: 2,168
Using a fault finder

I don't use mine a lot (Dynatel 573a) but need to locate a fault on a 300'+ run. I know you follow the needle according to the initial kick but the needle is so eratic it is hard to get a direction. Any suggestions or tips?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2014, 07:55 AM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArTurf View Post
I don't use mine a lot (Dynatel 573a) but need to locate a fault on a 300'+ run. I know you follow the needle according to the initial kick but the needle is so eratic it is hard to get a direction. Any suggestions or tips?
What do you mean by erratic?
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2014, 08:50 AM
ArTurf ArTurf is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ark
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1idejim View Post
What do you mean by erratic?
Posted via Mobile Device
Needle bounces all over the place, even prior to putting probes in the ground
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2014, 09:05 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,823
I've seen that happen with the probes in the ground but not ever with them out of the ground.
Usually what I do in that case is pinpoint the fault as best as possible with the wire locator, then check the spot with the fault finder receiver set pretty low. Pretty annoying to have the needle kick back and forth but if you watch closely you'll be able to see the "red" and "black" kick.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2014, 07:20 AM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
I've seen that happen with the probes in the ground but not ever with them out of the ground.
Usually what I do in that case is pinpoint the fault as best as possible with the wire locator, then check the spot with the fault finder receiver set pretty low. Pretty annoying to have the needle kick back and forth but if you watch closely you'll be able to see the "red" and "black" kick.
That is my guess also. Setting is too high.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2014, 09:02 AM
ArTurf ArTurf is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ark
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by AI Inc View Post
That is my guess also. Setting is too high.
I've got it set at the lowest setting. The needle starts moving when the probes get close to the ground, up higher and it settles down.

The ground is pretty saturated here, been raining 3 days straight. Maybe I should let it dry out and come back??

Are digital meters easier to read?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2014, 08:16 PM
Without A Drought Without A Drought is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 835
I just got the armada A frame and used it today. it didn't really help pinpoint the open any better than the 800 did the other day. in the end, i ended up repeatedly halving the distance between 2 "good" sections of wire and ohming out the open side. i ended up replacing about 20' of wire (it wasn't deep at all, and kind of chewed up from an aerator). in close proximity to the open is primary and secondary electric, the transformer, and site lighting, which is energized to the pole, so there was a good deal of distortion.

i need to set up a controlled training field for the a frame, so i can see what happens under various conditions. that said, does anyone with experience with this piece have any other tips?

thanks for all your help, now i'm off to watch youtube videos of fault finding.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2014, 09:41 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,952
You're wanting to see what a locator does during a locate or fault find. I use all types of wire and ground them.

Something that works for me is to use extension cords and ground the splices and ends. The visual reference of the exposed wire helps you to see the signature of each fault in comparison to the "pre located" wire path.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Page generated in 0.08099 seconds with 7 queries