Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2006, 09:09 PM
creeksidelc creeksidelc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Jefferson, GA
Posts: 39
Toro Tranny replacement

I have an older Toro Proline with 4 speed forward/ one speed reverse tranny that started slipping. I am going to order a replacement and thought I might be able to put a 5 speed in it instead, but am not sure. Can anyone give me some assistance on a new tranny to put in. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2006, 10:07 PM
LawnTamer's Avatar
LawnTamer LawnTamer is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 3,957
First make sure the belt isn't slipping. Second either the peerless 700 or the 3628 P1 (also by peerless) should work just fine. You can get them on E-bay brand new from a co in Texas for $189 plus shipping, or from Lesco for $232. I asked my Toro dealer how much, he quoted me $300. But it is the exact same tranny as is used in the 36" Lesco Belt driven WBs.
Good Luck.
__________________
Evergreen of Utah
Licensed applicators since 1990
Making the desert green one lawn at a time


"No freeman shall ever be debarred the use of arms."
-Thomas Jefferson

"Both oligarch and tyrant mistrust the people, and therefore deprive them of arms." - Aristotle
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2006, 11:08 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,725
Here is another place for replacment transmissions ; http://j-thomas.com/Catalog/170.htm
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...
Quote:
Originally Posted by MannsLawnService View Post
some times the man in my mirror isn't so smart...
"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2006, 11:06 AM
creeksidelc creeksidelc is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Jefferson, GA
Posts: 39
I am going to get one from Jthomas, but don't know if I should get a 5 spd or 4 spd. Will they both work. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:37 PM
Restrorob's Avatar
Restrorob Restrorob is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Show'n my truck off !
Posts: 10,725
It all depends on the drive or output shaft spline count, If the splines are the same the physical size and mounting holes are the same. They should be able to tell you when you contact J Thomas about the splines.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by piston slapper View Post
You never learn anything until you admit you don't know it all...
Quote:
Originally Posted by MannsLawnService View Post
some times the man in my mirror isn't so smart...
"Why go out preserved when you can go out beat up, worn out, sliding in sideways screaming, Holy Sh!t What A Ride" !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Page generated in 0.06890 seconds with 9 queries