Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-20-2005, 01:51 PM
capitallandscapes capitallandscapes is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas City Area
Posts: 28
We buy c-9 on 1000ft rolls and cut it to fit. WWW.CREATIVEDISPLAYS.COM
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-20-2005, 11:04 PM
nelbuts's Avatar
nelbuts nelbuts is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SW, FL
Posts: 1,055
If you you are using mini lights you can buy black out caps. Or you can cut at the mid point. Minis are wire in series of 50 or 35.

For example take a string of 100 follow the wires and you will see three wires then it goes to two and right back to three. Cut at the two wire point and put on a plug and you have shortened your string. Lights of 70 are the same cut mark is between 35 and 36.

I do not use C9's any longer as they burn way too much electric for my home. But C7 5 watt bulbs I use. You can cut that anywhere because it is wired as a normal light. Get some shrink tubing and seal your ends and you are good to go.

If you want to see my house you can visit my web site at:
www.ridgeharborchristmas.com
__________________
The biggest oak is just a stubborn nut that held it's ground.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-26-2006, 10:04 PM
Firefly Lighting Firefly Lighting is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by gglawns
Forgive the dumb question but I had to ask. When you get your lights from the supplier how do you make them custom fit to the house? For example when a house has a small part in the roof that is only about 5 feet, how do you light that and not show any lights around it or leading up to it?
You cut the wire between lamps and use quick connectors plugs and sockets to tie them back into the power.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-30-2006, 06:41 PM
mrusk mrusk is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: northern jersey
Posts: 3,247
How do you guys know if your overloading a circuit or not? I assume you need to keep track of the amps?

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-05-2006, 10:13 AM
ericlemson's Avatar
ericlemson ericlemson is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Easley, SC
Posts: 173
Anybody have any photos of their work?
__________________
------------
Eric Sikes



Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-05-2006, 08:37 PM
Mike M Mike M is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,814
quick connectors

http://news.thomasnet.com/fullstory/31914

Are these the quick connectors firefly referred too? Where can I find these?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-07-2006, 09:06 PM
Mike M Mike M is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,814
Nevermind... I found the quick connectors on All American Christmas Lights.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 PM.

Page generated in 0.08194 seconds with 9 queries