Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:07 PM
Pastaboy62's Avatar
Pastaboy62 Pastaboy62 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Jersey Shore
Posts: 363
Eletrical Problems

When installing lights, what do you guys to make sure you don't overload the outlets. Last year i was running extension cords from the persons garage b/c there was only two outlets on the porch. Do you just work with what you got?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2006, 02:24 PM
Mowerboy04's Avatar
Mowerboy04 Mowerboy04 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: novi mi
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastaboy62
When installing lights, what do you guys to make sure you don't overload the outlets. Last year i was running extension cords from the persons garage b/c there was only two outlets on the porch. Do you just work with what you got?
yea i had the same question anyone know?
__________________
2011 dodge ram 2500
2001 Chevy 3500 dump
7x14 white enclosed
2013 7x20 sur-track open trailer
2010 exmark lazer "x" series 60" 34hp
2011 exmark lazer "x" series 60" 29hp
2013 exmark lazer "s" series 60" 27hp
2013 exmark turf tracer "s" series 52" 20hp
2011 wright stander RH 52" 19hp
1013 exmark commerical 30" wb
honda push mower
(4) weed wips shindiawa,redmax,echo
(2) stick edgers shindiawa,redmax
(3)redmax 7001
sthil br 340
pluger aerator

230 lawns
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2006, 02:37 PM
stumpjumper stumpjumper is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: prague,oklahoma
Posts: 184
I'm an electrician but I've never messed with christmas lights. There should be a load rating on all electrical devices. It will either be in amps or watts. If it is in watts simply devide the total wattage by 120, you're voltage, to find the amperage. If the load is given in amps your already set because that what the breaker on the circuit will be rated in, almost always 20 amps on a plugin circuit. A rule of thumb is to not load a circuit at more than 80% or 16 amps on a 20 amp breaker. I have heard of a few house fires caused by cheap foreign made lights that are not U.L rated. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2006, 03:10 PM
crbrown17 crbrown17 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 2
I'm no electrician, so this may be a stupid question. Is there a device which can be plugged into an outlet to measure the amps or load the outlet is currently under. Lets say the outlet located outside is on the same breaker as an indoor freezer in the garage. If you are unaware you can inadvertently overload the outlet from the amps being pulled by the Xmas lights. Do they make a device which can tell you if the outlet is under load and how much?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2006, 08:40 PM
stumpjumper stumpjumper is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: prague,oklahoma
Posts: 184
I'm not aware of any device you can plugin to get an amperage reading. You can remove the cover of the breaker box and locate the feeder for the circuit in question, use a clampon meter which will tell you the load. If an appliance such as a freezer or refrig. is on line make sure the compressor is running or you will get a false reading.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.

Page generated in 0.07708 seconds with 9 queries